The District

The District is the organisational part of the Union within Dorset. It is where general decisions are made and actions organised. The Branch is made up of all serving Education staff whether teaching or support staff, employed by a Supply Agency or as part of an academy chain, student, or trainee teachers. 

The District is run by Lay Officers who are either serving or retired educationalists, each giving up their time to help the National Education Union within Dorset. They are not full-time Trade Union Officials nor are they paid by the Union. Each officer is nominated for the role and is elected annually at the Annual General Meeting following a ballot of members. Any member of the Dorset District can stand as an officer.

The District has no central office but can be contacted via the District Secretary or the Advice Line.

Below are the names of the Officers elected or co-opted onto the Committee. Some roles still have to be filled and we are always happy to add new members to the committee. As the year passes each may add a bit about themselves

Officers in the Branch 2020/2021

Committee members

Nic Preston, Kathryn Booth, Ellie Douglas, Mark Chutter

Officers within the Dorset District 2020/2021

District and Branch Secretary: Vacant

President: Tom Barnett

Treasurer: Geoff Cooke

Caseworkers: Richard Foyle, Peter Parsons

Equalities Officer: Vacant

Communications Officer: Tom Barnett

Independent Schools’ Officer:  Lisa Kearney

Support Staff Officer: Kathryn Booth

Minutes Secretary: Alison Chown

Supply Officer: Paul Eaton

Retired Officer: Jane Pridmore

Membership Secretary: Kathryn Booth

Committee members

Heather Cooke, Reji Raj-Singh, Mark Chutter, Paula Doyle, Claire Alison

South West Council delegates

Kathryn Booth, Ali Chown, Geoff Cooke, Heather Cooke, Lisa Kearney

File downloads