National executive

The NEU Executive comprises the National Officers, 49 Geographical members, three equality constituency members and three sector seat constituency members. 

The Executive is responsible for the governance, management and control of the Union by Rule. The Executive meets eight times per year.

Elections to the Executive and to the Officer body are held biennially in alternate years. Information about these elections, and any by-elections occurring when we have vacancies on the Executive, is circulated to district officers. If you wish to know more about how candidates in these elections are nominated, please contact your district.

National Officers (2023-2024)

  • President - Emma Rose
  • Vice-President - Phil Clarke
  • Treasurer - Hazel Danson

Executive schedule of meetings

  • 2 September 2023
  • 12 October 2023
  • 2 December 2023
  • 18 January 2024
  • 24 February 2024
  • 21 March 2024
  • 18 May 2024
  • 15 June 2024
  • 20 June (Awayday)
  • 11 July 2024
  • 10 October 2024
  • 30 November 2024


Equality Constituencies

  • Black Member Constituency – HENRY, Denise S
  • LGBT+ Member Constituency – DE GROOT, Kacey
  • Disabled Member Constituency – JOHNSON, Colleen

Sector Seat Constituencies

  • Independent Schools Constituency – METCALF, Brian
  • Post-16 Establishments Constituency – BLACKIE, Duncan
  • Support Staff Constituency – FARTHING, Emma

Executive districts and members

England and Wales are divided into multi-seat electoral districts and Northern Ireland and Scotland form one electoral district.

City of Sunderland, City of York, Co Durham, Cumbria, Darlington, Gateshead, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Newcastle upon Tyne, Northumberland, North Tyneside, North Yorkshire, Redcar & Cleveland, South Tyneside, Stockton

  • Nicola Hawkins
  • Paul Welch
  • Louise Moores

Barnsley, Bradford, Calderdale, Doncaster, Kirklees, Leeds, Rotherham, Sheffield, Wakefield

  • Louise Lewis
  • Helen Bellamy
  • Debbie Kahler

City of Derby, City of Leicester, East Riding, Hull, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, North East Lincolnshire, North Lincolnshire, Northern Derbyshire, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, Rutland, Southern Derbyshire

  • Anna Scott
  • Wendy Hardy
  • Louise Regan

Blackburn with Darwen, Blackpool, City of Preston, East Lancashire, Fylde and Wyre, Halton, Isle of Man, Knowsley, Lancaster and Morecambe, Liverpool, Sefton, South West Lancashire, St Helens, Warrington, Wirral

  • Siobhan Collingwood
  • Peter Glover
  • Deborah Gwynn

Bolton, Bury, Cheshire East, Cheshire West & Chester, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford, Wigan

  • Joanne Amy Fleet
  • Dawn Taylor
  • Nick Wigmore

Bedford, Cambridgeshire, Central Bedfordshire, East Northants, Ipswich and South Suffolk, Luton, Norfolk, North East Suffolk, North Northants, Northampton, Peterborough, South West Northants, West Suffolk

  • Emma Brady
  • Shelagh Kavanagh
  • David Mingay

Birmingham, Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell, Shropshire, Solihull, Staffordshire, Stoke on Trent, Telford and Wrekin, Walsall, Wolverhampton

  • Christopher Denson
  • Shirley Perry
  • Kate Taylor

Gloucestershire, Herefordshire, Oxfordshire, South Gloucestershire, Swindon, Warwickshire, Wiltshire, Worcestershire

  • Sarah Carter
  • Chris Dutton
  • Leigh Seedhouse

Buckinghamshire, Central Essex, East Essex, Hertfordshire, Milton Keynes, North East Essex, North West Essex, Overseas Service Children’s Education (Germany & Cyprus), South Essex, Southend, Thurrock, West Essex

  • Phillipa Kearns
  • Murray Sackwild
  • Georgia Townshend

Brighton & Hove, East Kent, East Sussex, Hastings, Lewes, Eastbourne and Wealden, Medway, North Kent, South Kent, West Kent, West Sussex

  • Christopher Lilley
  • Holly Williams
  • Liz Ritson

Bracknell Forest, Isle of Wight,  North East Hampshire, Portsmouth, Reading, Slough, South East Hampshire, Southampton, Surrey, West Berkshire, West Hampshire, Windsor & Maidenhead, Wokingham

  • Susan Kent
  • Helen Reeder
  • Michelle Purdie

Bath & NE Somerset, Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole, Bristol, Cornwall & Isles of Scilly, Devon, Dorset, Guernsey, Jersey, North Somerset, Plymouth, Somerset, Torbay

  • Sheila Caffrey
  • Michaela Wilde
  • Jon Reddiford

Blaenau Gwent, Brecon, Bridgend, Caerphilly, Cardiff, Carmarthenshire, Ceredigion, Conwy, Denbighshire, Flintshire, Gwynedd, Merthyr Tydfil, Monmouthshire, Montgomery, Newport, Pembrokeshire, Radnor, Rhondda Cynon Taf, Swansea,Tawe Afan Need, Torfaen, Vale of Glamorgan, Wrexham,  Ynys Mon

  • Mairead Canavan
  • Elizabeth McLean
  • Hannah O'Neill

Camden, Greenwich, Hackney, Hammersmith & Fulham, Islington, Kensington & Chelsea, Lambeth, Lewisham, Southwark, Tower Hamlets and the City, Wandsworth, Westminster

  • James Kerr
  • Jessica Edwards
  • Carly Slingsby

Barnet, Brent, Ealing, Enfield, Harrow, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Kingston Upon Thames, Merton, Richmond on Thames, Sutton

  • Debra Beale
  • Jenny Cooper
  • Stefan Simms

Barking & Dagenham, Bexley, Bromley, Croydon, Haringey, Havering, Newham, Redbridge Waltham Forest

  • Mehreen Begg
  • Dominic Byrne
  • Louise Cuffaro

Scotland; Northern Ireland

  • Gordon White


NEU members are eligible to stand for election as officers of the Union, members of the executive or members of the annual and special conferences of the Union.

Back to top