Fred and Anne Jarvis award

The Fred and Anne Jarvis award pays tribute to the example and commitment to education shown by previous General Secretary, Fred Jarvis, and his wife, Anne Jarvis, a lifelong NEU member and former chair of the Education Committee for Barnet Council.

Each year since 2008, an annual award has been made to recognise the contribution of an individual, who is external to the Union, who has been involved in campaigning on a national or local educational issue. 

Previous award winners include the children’s author Michael Rosen; education activist Malala Yousafzai; Marcus Rashford, for his campaigning on free school meals; Madeleine Holt, co-founder of campaign group Rescue Our Schools; and journalist Mellissa Benn for championing the cause of comprehensive education. 

How to make a nomination

Nominations for the 2024 award must be made by branches/districts by completing this form. The Closing date for nominations is Friday 19 January 2024. 

Nomination form

Award winner 2023

Children's author Onjali Q Raúf, was named winner of Fred and Anne Jarvis award 2023. 


Onjali Q Raúf photograph by Rehan Jamil
Photo ©Rehan Jamil

Accepting the award, Onjali, whose books tackle issues such as domestic violence, unaccompanied refugees and food poverty, said she was “jaw-droppingly astounded” to receive it.

Philipa Harvey nominated Onjali, whose books include The Boy at the Back of the Class and The Star Outside My Window, on behalf of the Croydon district.

Back to top