The Fred and Anne Jarvis award pays tribute to the example and commitment to education shown by previous General Secretary, Fred Jarvis, and his wife, Anne Jarvis, a lifelong NEU member and former chair of the Education Committee for Barnet Council, who died in 2007. 

Each year since 2008 an annual award has been made to recognise the contribution of an individual, who is external to the Union, who has been involved in campaigning on a national or local educational issue.


The award should be made to a person outside the union who has campaigned tirelessly on a national or local level on educational issues which are broadly in support of the NEU’s ethos and approach and accord with the example and commitment shown by Fred and Anne Jarvis.

How do I nominate somebody?

NEU members are invited to consider nominating a non-NEU member for the 2022 award by completing the nomination form here.

Members submitting a nomination should provide their own names, the names and contact details of their branch and the name and contact details of the person nominated. They must also provide a brief resume (maximum of 500 words) of the reasons for the nomination.

The deadline for nominations is Monday 10th January 2022.

Nominations will be considered by the executive and the award will be made through the presentation of a certificate at the NEU Annual Conference 2022.

Fred and Jarvis Award 2021 Winner – Marcus Rashford MBE

Previous award winners

  • Marcus Rashford, MBE, for his work in fighting food poverty
  • Parent campaigner Julie Rayson, for her contribution to the campaign to challenge Bright Tribe Trust’s management of the Whitehaven Academy;
  • Madeleine Holt, co-founder of Rescue Our Schools, a parent-led campaign group for properly funded and locally accountable state education;
  • Journalist Warwick Mansell for his invaluable contribution to the education debate; education campaigner Jonny Crawshaw for his tireless campaigning for the rights of children to a decent education in York;
  • Children’s author Alan Gibbons, for speaking up for teachers, children and education;
  • Ged Grebby, founder of Show Racism the Red Card; Michael Lees OBE for his campaigning to remove asbestos from schools;
  • Malala Yousafzai, activist for girls and women’s education;
  • Margaret Tulloch for supporting comprehensive education;
  • Fiona Millar, journalist and education campaigner;
  • The former Children’s Laureate Michael Rosen;
  • Professor Robin Alexander; and
  • Melissa Benn, state comprehensive education campaigner.