NEU Executive comprises six National Officers, 64 Geographical members, three equality constituency members and three sector seat constituency members.  The Executive is responsible for the governance, management and control of the Union by Rule. The first elections to the NEU Executive took place in 2018 and members took office on 1 January 2019.  The Executive meets eight times per year.  

National Officers (2020-2021)

President – Robin Bevan 

Senior Vice-President – Daniel Kebede 

Junior Vice-President – Louise Atkinson 

Past President – Amanda Martin 

Hazel Danson - Treasurer

Louise Regan - Membership & Equalities Officer 

Geographical Members

England and Wales are divided into multi-seat electoral districts and Northern Ireland and Scotland form one electoral district.

Executive districts and members

District 1

City of Sunderland, City of York, Co Durham, Cumbria, Darlington, Gateshead, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Newcastle upon Tyne, Northumberland, North Tyneside, North Yorkshire, Redcar & Cleveland, South Tyneside, Stockton

Paramjeet Bhogal
Emma Parker
Anne Swift
Paul Welch

District 2

Barnsley, Bradford, Calderdale, Doncaster, Kirklees, Leeds, Rotherham, Sheffield, Wakefield

Allison Barnes
Sally Kincaid
Simon Murch
Patrick Murphy

District 3

City of Derby, City of Leicester, East Riding, Hull, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, North East Lincolnshire, North Lincolnshire, Northern Derbyshire, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, Rutland, Southern Derbyshire

Simon Clarkson
Wendy Hardy
Robert Illingworth
Sheena Wheatley

District 4

Blackburn with Darwen, Blackpool, City of Preston, East Lancashire, Fylde and Wyre, Halton, Isle of Man, Knowsley, Lancaster and Morecambe, Liverpool, Sefton, South West Lancashire, St Helens, Warrington, Wirral

Peter Glover
Debs Gwynn
Brenda Hayes
Ian Watkinson

District 5

Bolton, Bury, Cheshire East, Cheshire West & Chester, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford, Wigan

Karen Parkin
Dawn Taylor
Nick Wigmore
Ian Windeatt

District 6

Bedford, Cambridgeshire, Central Bedfordshire, East Northants, Ipswich and South Suffolk, Luton, Norfolk, North East Suffolk, North Northants, Northampton, Peterborough, South West Northants, West Suffolk

Gawain Little
Deirdre Murphy
Niamh Sweeney
Adam Van Asch

District 7

Birmingham, Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell, Shropshire, Solihull, Staffordshire, Stoke on Trent, Telford and Wrekin, Walsall, Wolverhampton

Christopher Denson
Nicky Downes
Beatrice Harvey
Lucy Phillpot

District 8

Gloucestershire, Herefordshire, Oxfordshire, South Gloucestershire, Swindon, Warwickshire, Wiltshire, Worcestershire

Sarah Carter
Chris Dutton
Sean McCauley
Emma Mort

District 9

Buckinghamshire, Central Essex, East Essex, Hertfordshire, Milton Keynes, North East Essex, North West Essex, Overseas Service Children’s Education (Germany & Cyprus), South Essex, Southend, Thurrock, West Essex

Jerry Glazier
Phillipa Kearns
Heather McKenzie
Murray Sackwild

District 10

Brighton & Hove, East Kent, East Sussex, Hastings, Lewes, Eastbourne and Wealden, Medway, North Kent, South Kent, West Kent, West Sussex

Warren Chambers
Phil Clarke
Julie Huckstep
Ann Seuret

District 11

Bracknell Forest, Isle of Wight,  North East Hampshire, Portsmouth, Reading, Slough, South East Hampshire, Southampton, Surrey, West Berkshire, West Hampshire, Windsor & Maidenhead, Wokingham

Karam Bales
Dominic Coughlin
Susan Kent
Karen Williams

District 12

Bath & NE Somerset, Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole, Bristol, Cornwall & Isles of Scilly, Devon, Dorset, Guernsey, Jersey, North Somerset, Plymouth, Somerset, Torbay

Robin Head
Julia Neal
Jonathan Reddiford

District 13

Blaenau Gwent, Brecon, Bridgend, Caerphilly, Cardiff, Carmarthenshire, Ceredigion, Conwy, Denbighshire, Flintshire, Gwynedd, Merthyr Tydfil, Monmouthshire, Montgomery, Newport, Pembrokeshire, Radnor, Rhondda Cynon Taf, Swansea,Tawe Afan Need, Torfaen, Vale of Glamorgan, Wrexham,  Ynys Mon

Mairead Canavan
Hannah O’Neill

District 14

Camden, Greenwich, Hackney, Hammersmith & Fulham, Islington, Kensington & Chelsea, Lambeth, Lewisham, Southwark, Tower Hamlets and the City, Wandsworth, Westminster

Jessica Edwards
Abdul Choudhury
Alex Kenny
Kirstie Paton

District 15

Barnet, Brent, Ealing, Enfield, Harrow, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Kingston Upon Thames, Merton, Richmond on Thames, Sutton

Debra Beale
Andrea Croce
Hank Roberts
Stefan Simms

District 16

Barking & Dagenham, Bexley, Bromley, Croydon, Haringey, Havering, Newham, Redbridge Waltham Forest

Dominic Byrne
Philipa Harvey
Katie Lindenberg
Major Sundhu

District 17

Scotland; Northern Ireland

Gordon White


Equality Constituencies

Black Member Constituency – Vik Chechi-Ribeiro
LGBT+ Member Constituency –Kacey De Groot
Disabled Member Constituency – Colleen Johnson 

Sector Seat Constituencies

Support Staff Constituency – Tracy McGuire
Independent Schools Constituency – Helen Porter
Post-16 Establishments Constituency – Jean Evanson

Executive schedule of meetings

12 November 2020
12 December 2020
14 January 2021
20 February 2021
25 March 2021
8 May 2021
10 June 2021
17 July 2021
4 September 2021 (Special Executive - elections/induction) 
2 October 2021
25 November 2021