The NEU invites members to nominate an NEU Representative/Officer who they feel deserves to be recognised by the union for their hard work and commitment.

The awards are judged at regional level and are made up of one rep and one officer for each region in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. The Regional/Wales/Northern Ireland winners are then considered for the National Representative and Officer of the Year awards.

How to make a nomination

If a Representative or Officer has made a difference in your workplace or local area, we invite you to nominate them for the NEU Representative of the year or NEU Officer of the year. To nominate someone please click on the corresponding link below.

A rep could be a workplace rep, a health and safety rep, or a Covid rep. Officers carry out a wide range of functions in your district or branch. For instance, an officer could be your branch secretary, your district secretary, a district equality officer, or an officer for new professionals and young members.

Nominate a representative of the year

Nominate an officer of the year 

How are nominations judged?

Nominations will be judged against the following set of criteria

The more evidence and examples to support your nomination, the better your nominee’s chances are of recognition by the judging panel. 

The NEU particularly welcomes nominations of reps and officers from under-represented groups. 

These awards are judged at a regional level and are made up of one rep and one officer for each region in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. The regional/Wales/Northern Ireland winners are then considered for the National Representative and Officer of the Year awards. 

The closing date for Nominations is Friday 22 January 2021.

Supporting materials 

If you have examples of supporting materials - such as emails, letters, newsletters, posters or photos - please send them as attachments by email to clearly stating the name of your nominee and ‘Rep/Officer of the Year Award’ in the subject heading.