It is made up of representatives from the Regions, Wales and Northern Ireland, as well as three representatives of the NEU Executive Council (EC). It is chaired by Trish Fay, who is the support staff reserved seat-holder on the EC. The SSNC meets on a termly basis.

The SSNC has been given a two-pronged remit by the NEU Executive: Organising, and Policy Development:


The main focus of NC meetings will be on sharing members’ experiences of organising activities and on:

  • promoting and supporting the engagement of members and their active participation and development into reps;
  • sharing utilising and building on effective practice;
  • developing local networks to further such engagement; and
  • sharing and reporting on policy considerations emerging from local activity which can inform recruitment and development of members and reps.

SSNC members are expected to engage with members and help develop local activist networks at Regional/Wales/NI level, and also to report in writing to each R/W/NI Council meeting and engage with R/W/NI Council delegates as required. 

Policy Development

The NC shall be responsible for advising the Executive on matters which the Executive has asked it to consider, allowing for more detailed work than strategy committees are able to undertake.

Organising and/or policy recommendations will go to the Executive and/or its strategy committees, as determined by the Officer Steering Group.

Current membership of the Support Staff National Council

Trish Fay Executive  
Debra Beales Executive  
Emma Parker Executive  
Monica White East Midlands Southern Derbyshire
Julie Nall East Midlands Southern Derbyshire
Adam Crump East Midlands Nottingham
Joyce Field Eastern Hertfordshire
Paul Widdowson Eastern NE Suffolk
Gillian Palmer  Eastern South Essex District
Sadia Moaeed London Barking & Dagenham
David Ball London Barnet
Christina Neary London Camden
Ellie Page London Croydon
Linda Jennings London Barking & Dagenham
VACANCY North West  
VACANCY North West  
VACANCY North West  
Christina Broadbent Northern Northumberland
Jill Jackson Northern Durham
Alison Knighton Northern Durham
VACANCY Northern Ireland  
Peter East-Farrell  South East Bracknell Forest
VACANCY South East South East
VACANCY South East  
Michaela Wilde South West Bristol
VACANCY South West Somerset
Callum Pollard South West Cornwall
Philippa Marshall Wales Cardiff
Donna Jones Wales Denbighshire
Olivia McLaren Wales Cardiff
Sarah Branton West Midlands Telford & Wrekin
Katie Harrison West Midlands Coventry
Chris Hubble West Midlands Birmingham    
Patricia Graham Yorks & Humberside Rotherham
Edwina Shachar Yorks & Humberside East Yorkshire
Lisa Addinall Yorks & Humberside North Yorks

If you work in one of the areas where there is a vacancy, and you would like to know more about becoming a member of the Support Staff National Council (SSNC), please email Peter Morris, National Official for Support Staff.