Dates available
  • Wednesday 5th February 2020 (9:30am - 4:30pm) Thursday 5th March 2020 (9:30am - 4:30pm) Tuesday 28th April 2020 (9:30am - 4:30pm) Tuesday 2nd June 2020 (9:30am - 4:30pm)

    Wesley Hotel
    London
    United Kingdom

  • Thursday 27th (9:30am) - Friday 28th February (4:30pm) 2020 Thursday 30th April (9:30am) - Friday 1st May (4:30pm) 2020

    Jurys Inn
    Newcastle
    United Kingdom

  • Monday 4th May 2020 (9:30am - 4:30pm) Thursday 18th June 2020 (9:30am - 4:30pm) Thursday 16th July 2020 (9:30am - 4:30pm)

    National Education Union
    Hamilton House
    London
    WC1H 9BD
    United Kingdom

About the event

Many issues that members face in the workplace, for example workload, have a health and safety perspective.

This four-day course is for all new health and safety reps, and those health and safety reps who did their training minimum three years ago, as well as workplace reps and branch and district officers who have a NEU responsibility for health and safety or just want to know more. Please ensure you have time off agreed with your employer for all four days when booking a place.

This course will help you to:

  • develop a trade union approach to health and safety
  • understand the legal rights of a NEU H&S rep
  • understand the legal framework of H&S and the legal duties on employers
  • be proactive in tackling H&S issues collectively in the workplace