Stop school cuts.

The School Cuts Coalition and 39 Local Authorities have written to Education Secretary Damian Hinds expressing their deep concerns about the dangerously inadequate funding for children and young people with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities. Read it in full below - then sign our petition.


Dear Damian Hinds, Secretary of State for Education

We, the undersigned, represent local government and education professionals who are deeply concerned for the provision of children and young people with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND) in our care. The Government’s recent cash injection for SEND does not introduce any new money into Local Authority budgets and this will not solve the long term challenges LAs and schools face in delivering effective SEND provision.

Lack of adequate SEND funding is limiting local authorities’ ability to meet their statutory duties for children living with SEND. The result has been far-reaching reductions to SEND provision and nationally over 2,000 children and young people identified with complex needs with no education provision at all.

We call for:

A significant increase in High Needs Block funding to local authorities, which will allow LAs and schools to provide appropriate support to children and young people with the most complex needs.

An immediate increase in funding for schools which will allow them to deliver additional support for SEND children.

A fair, sustainable funding system for SEND that will respond to the individual needs of each local area and acknowledge the complexities of providing high quality SEND education.

The Government must commit to working with local authorities and other stakeholders with an interest in SEND in order to achieve this. We urge the Government to act quickly on this matter, so that every child with SEND can receive the support they need to thrive.

The undersigned


Local authorities

Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council
Cllr. Tim Cheetham


Cambridgeshire County Council
Cllr. Lucy Nethsingha


Hackney London Borough Council
Cllr. Anntoinette Bramble


Barking and Dagenham London Borough Council
Cllr. Evelyn Carpenter


Cumbria County Council
Cllr. Stewart Young


Halton Borough Council
Cllr. Mike Wharton


Birmingham City Council
Cllr. Ian Ward


Ealing London Borough Council
Cllr. Yvonne Johnson


Hammersmith and Fulham London Borough Council
Cllr. Larry Culhane


Bolton Council
Cllr. Ann Cunliffe


Enfield London Borough Council
​Cllr. Achilleas Georgiou


Hartlepool Borough Council
​Cllr. Brenda Harrison


Bristol City Council
Cllr. Anna Keen


Gateshead Council
​Cllr. Gary Haley


Hounslow London Borough Council
​Cllr. Tom Bruce


Islington London Borough Council
Cllr. Richard Watts


Plymouth City Council
Cllr. Tudor Evans OBE


Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council
Cllr. Bob Cook


Kingston London Borough Council
Cllr. Diane White


Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council
Cllr. Craig Hannaway


Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council
Cllr. Jane Baugh and Cllr Ray Bowker


Lambeth London Borough Council
Cllr. Jennifer Brathwaite


Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council
Cllr. Gordon Watson


Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council
Cllr. Chris Towe


Leeds City Council
Cllr. Lisa Mulherin


Salford City Council
Cllr. Kate Lewis


Waltham Forest London Borough Council
Cllr. Grace Williams


Lewisham London Borough Council
Cllr. Chris Barnham and Mayor Damien Egan


Sheffield City Council
Cllr. Jayne Dunn


Warrington Borough Council
Cllr. Russ Bowden


Liverpool City Council
Mayor Joe Anderson


South Tyneside Council
Cllr. Iain Malcolm


Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council
Cllr. Jenny Bullen


Middlesbrough Council
Cllr. Janice Brunton-Dobson


Southwark London Borough Council
Cllr. Jasmine Ali


Wiltshire Council
Baroness Scott of Bybrook OBE


Newcastle City Council
Cllr. Nick Forbes


St. Helens Metropolitan Borough Council
Cllr. Martin Bond


Wokingham Borough Council
Cllr. Pauline Helliar-Symons


Supported by the School Cuts coalition

Dr Mary Bousted
Joint General Secretary
National Education Union


Kevin Courtney
Joint General Secretary
National Education Union


Tim Roache
General Secretary


Dave Prentis
General Secretary


Geoff Barton
General Secretary


Paul Whiteman
General Secretary


Len McCluskey
General Secretary